Goodbye France, but not for long. 

Standard

Hello all,

Another update to my blog so soon after the last post is probably shocking, as I haven’t been very good about posting regular updates on my life here. 

This week is my very last week of working with my students, and I think tomorrow is going to be a hard day. I’ve had a fantastic year and my students have been just wonderful, so I will miss them a lot. I will also miss the teachers that I’ve been working with. They’ve been so kind and helpful throughout this whole process. I couldn’t be any luckier in pretty much every aspect of this experience.

 I know in my last post I takes about how it would be hard to say goodbye to France, but since posting, I’ve received some exciting news! Last Friday, I got an email saying that my application to renew my teaching assistant contract had been renewed! I won’t learn of my city and school placements until late June, but I couldn’t be more thrilled. 

Now if you’d asked me seven months ago (side note: I can’t believe I’ve been living here for seven whole months!!) if I saw myself staying in France for another year, I’d have said no. As much as I love this country, I thought that I would just return home and start work until I could get everything in order to apply to grad schools. This wasn’t in the original plan, but plans change and that’s how life goes. 

It will be strange next year to potentially be somewhere completely different, but I’m excited to see where my next adventure lies. 

As I’m leaving for the summer in just under a month, I’d like to make two lists (Best to make them now before I get wrapped up in packing and goodbyes). The first will be some of the things that I will miss about France and my experience in Orléans and the second, a list of things I’m looking forward to for the coming year. 

Things I will miss:

  • The friends that I’ve made here
  • Crossing the Loire on the way to town
  • My students
  • My favorite tea room in town (Cafe au tour de la terre)
  • My host family, and their adorable cat
  • The walkability of cities here. You just don’t get that in metro Detroit. 
  • Going to my favorite bookshop in town to browse the books and stationary
  • Talking long walks on the walkway in the middle of the river
  • The many food markets that happen here throughout the week
  • Rhubarb yogurt
  • All of the delicious pastries and foods 
  • Speaking French every day (I always lose some of it during the summer when I’m not practicing….)

Things I’m excited about for next year:

  • Exploring new places 
  • Having opportunities to visit with friends
  • Meeting new people
  • Getting to work with more (hopefully) wonderful students
  • Improving my French even more

Thee lists are far from complete, but I think capture the essence of my experience and my hopes for next year. 

That’s all I’ve got for now, but I will leave you with a picture of Figaro the cat who is sitting with me while I write. 

    2 thoughts on “Goodbye France, but not for long. 

    1. Great news, congrats!!! I totally understand not expecting to be an assistant two times….but here I am gearing up for my second year as well 🙂 Looking forward to seeing where you end up!

    Leave a Reply

    