My, How the Time Flies

Standard

As of today, I have less than 2 days left in France.  I am discovering that packing to come home is far worse than packing to come to France was. Cleaning my apartment seems much more appealing than packing up my entire life.  I’ve been feeling stressed about trying to finish the work that needs to get done before I leave, as well as a bit melancholy at the thought of leaving.

I’ve also been doing a lot of thinking about all of the things I will miss about France.  Here’s a list of some of those things:

  • I will miss the strange ability here that I have to travel to Paris on a regular.
  • I will miss the beautiful old buildings.  They just don’t make buildings like these in the States.
  • I will miss the Christmas markets.  I think I’ve told you how I feel about the Christmas markets. They’re pretty magical.
  • I will miss the food. I know this is cliché, but French food is actually really good.
  • I will miss having classes on a farm surrounded by trees in Rambouillet.  I couldn’t ask for a more gorgeous place to spend my time.
  • I will miss the chateaus.  They’re so impressive and beautiful.
  • I will miss my apartment.  Even though it has its issues sometimes, it’s still home and has been for the past 3 months.

The final and most important thing that I will miss about France the friends that I have made here.  It would not have been the same studying here without all of them.  They made this crazy country and university even more than bearable. They made it home. It’s so crazy and sad to think that we don’t know when we will see each other again in person (at least we have Skype).  It is always strange to go from seeing someone every day to not seeing them for an indeterminate amount of time.  It was like this for me with my family and friends at home, but I knew that within a period of four months I would be home.  This time, I don’t know when I will be back, but it certainly will be sooner rather than later.  I have fallen in love with France, and now, more than ever have a great desire to see the rest of Europe. I can’t wait to have more adventures discovering the rest of this continent…

As the last of the students start to leave the Vauban, I can truly say that I’ve had such a wonderful experience here in France.  There may have been some rough patches, but I have so many great memories of this time and I am so thankful for that.  I am so blessed to have had this opportunity to come to study in France and to meet so many wonderful people.

 

Leave a Reply

