It’s been a while…

Standard

So I thought I would give you all another update on my life.  I’ve had my classes lately so nothing has been too exciting.  I went to a conference about sustainable agriculture, which was interesting but very hard to understand much of because everyone was speaking French so quickly.  I finally got to see the chateau in Rambouillet.  We didn’t go inside when we went, but the outside and the gardens were beautiful.  Luckily the weather was nice for that.  Lately it’s been really rainy and cold here. 

Also, last week I had the week off from school and my parents came to visit, which was so nice! It was really great to see them and we got to do some really nice things around Paris together.  The first full day they were here, we went to the top of the Eiffel Tower.  The view from up there was really good, but it was a little bit scary being so high up.  Throughout the week, we also went to top of the Notre Dame cathedral in Paris, the Arc de Triomphe, a bunch of museums, and Disneyland.  It was fun to show my parents around Paris. I was also glad to finally get to go to some of the museums that I wanted to, like the Musée de l’Orangerie, Centre Pompidou, and the Musée Rodin.  

Going to Disney with my parents was fun as well.  It was interesting to compare the differences between the parks in the states with the park here.  It was odd (tough it makes sense because I am in France) to have all of the signs and things in French because I’m so used to the parks in Florida where everything is in English.  The park was all decorated for Halloween as well when we went and it looked so pretty! There were giant fake pumpkins everywhere shaped like Mickey and the gang, and it felt like home with all of the decorations.  

I wish my parents could have stayed longer, but I’m glad they got to come for the week that they did.  This week, it’s been hard to get back into the swing of having classes, especially since even before last week I hadn’t been having classes as often as usual because my professors have had other obligations.  It is cool though because this week I have classes with the Bergerie Nationale, a farm near where I have my classes in Rambouillet.  Today was the first day of classes with them and we discussed a lot of different things related to sustainable agriculture, the history of agriculture, and other related topics and issues.  All of the classes this week are in French, so they’re a bit of a challenge to get through, but I feel like I’m learning a lot.  Tomorrow my class has a tour of some parts of the farm for half of the day.  I am really excited for this aspect of the class and hopefully will have pictures to follow 🙂

I will leave you with a link to the pictures from when my parents were here and some others as well. 

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.765914910090293.1073741830.100000153723798&type=1&l=aabfa6c6cf

Leave a Reply

